First Trip on Common


Today was my first trip on  my local patch Figham Common, the site I’m planning on using for Bird Track. Today was quite drizzly so had a bit of low visibility problems although on the plus side the time seemed to have put off dog walkers out which meant I had the place to myself. Was quite a poor day species wise, although two patch firsts for myself of a grey heron and Pochard! The rain obviously ruled out any chance on seeing if the Barn Owl is still about, will have to go back on a nicer day. My mum took the dog for a walk in the morning and saw a Tree Creeper near the Beck! Nothing about when I went out later! The Beck is still frozen in parts which could explain the high amount of Mallards on the River Hull. Year list now up to 27.

 

Leave a Reply

