Not got you a Christmas Card, will this post do?


Disclaimer: This post contains terrible grammar and is awfully written.

I’ve been bullied into blogging by a birder who will remain anonymous. I might make it my New Year Resolution to blog more. Even if it’s just a weekly recap of the birds I’ve seen on the way to work.  I think my last post was just before June. I could bore you with a tedious bird by bird update, however I’ll flash you the highlights.

In mid June I headed out to Spurn and saw a Little Tern

Also in June was Fathers Day so instead of a present I bullied my daughter on an outing to North Cave Wetlands. I managed to see a Wood Sandpiper and a very sexy fellow birder.

I didn’t bird much in August but I did draw this picture of seals:

Seals of the UK

In September I bought a spotting scope (woo! I might be able to see more birds now!) and managed to tick a ruff (hur hur a bit of ruff you might say hur hur). I also took my new sexy spotting scope out to North Cave and was reward with Black and Arctic Terns. Another family holiday to Filey called, I managed to wangle an hour at Filey Dams which produced more Ruff, Dunlin and Ringed Plover. There was a mystery raptor I wanted to tick off Sparrowhawk but was unsure as only got a quick glimpse. One day we ventured to Scarborough, no Peregrine seen. Also tried very hard to point out Cormorant to my daughter. It took her ages to see it. She’s inherited my poor birding skills then!

October gave me a Jack Snipe and Goldcrest both at Top Hill Low but different days. Trip to Figham on 27th October gave me the first Fieldfare and Redwing of this winter. 28th October I went to High Eske which gave me one of my best birding trips; Kestrel, Barn Owl, Great Crested Grebe (I was disappointed to discover that if you type “David Bowie Great Crested Grebe” into google images that there isn’t a side by side picture comparing the two), King Fisher, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Bullfinch, Sparrowhawk and Little Grebe were the highlights.

I only went out once in Novemeber back to High Eske / Leven Carrs to try to tick a Short Eared Owl. Sadly didn’t manage it but did manage; Buzzard, Kestrel, Barn Owl and two Little Egrets. My latest outing of note was to Figham which gave me a year tick for Green Woodpecker and patch first with Curlew flying over!

I need to update my year list on the site but I’m currently at 117 desperate to make 120 for the year. I’ve managed to avoid at least two twitchable birds Glossy Ibis (no money) and Desert Wheatear (Twitching is a bit dirty). I also got a new phone with a half decent camera so here are some pictures I’ve taken. Enjoy and get ready for my top 10 birds of 2011 post!

Large flock of geese coming into roost at High Eske

Geese and sunset at High Eske

High Eske

Some form of Ink Cap?

Jew's Ear

More Jew's Ear

Scarborough gets a battering

Leave a Reply

