Beach Cleaning and Head Walking


Friday May 11th marked the start of Marine Conservation Society’s (in partnership with Marks and Spencer)  Big Beach Clean-Up. I’ve been a member of MCS for little over six months and just missed out on the last beach clean they did, so when I saw the chance to take part in Big Beach Clean-Up weekend I soon signed up.

With the mixed weather we’ve had of late, I packed my waterproofs in my bag and made my way to the closest beach clean to me at Bridlington. Upon finding the MCS marquee I registered my name and received my £5 off a £25 shop M&S voucher  and hung around waiting for the event to start. Whilst waiting I was kept entertained by swallows hunting over the sand dunes.

The event began shortly before 10am, we were given a health and safety talk by a member of MCS which also included the reasons why we were there. Such as the harmful effects litter like plastic bags, balloon releases and flushed bathroom rubbish. Following that we had a brief talk from a representative from Marks & Spencer who explained a little about their partnership with MCS and their plan A initiative.

I ended up getting paired up with a nice man from Bridlington and we went off looking for litter, which was harder than you’d think as the beach was seemingly quite clean. Trudging slowly over wet sand we managed to find string from balloons, cotton buds, plastic bottle caps and cigarette butts. Then we found what looked like a small bit of plastic only to discover it was actually a very large piece of roofing felt buried in the sand. That quickly filled our rubbish sack and took some work dragging it back to the meeting point. After a bit more cleaning it was soon 11 and the beach clean was over. For a seemingly clean beach in total we managed to collect 25 bags of rubbish equaling 150 kilos of rubbish!

Some of the rubbish collected from Bridlington

After the beach clean was over, I got some snacks from the M&S guys (toffee chocolate pecan popcorn or something was great!) and decided to go out birding somewhere. After sampling some of Bridlington’s chips, I hopped on a bus to Flamborough North Landing.

Someone wanted my chips

Starting off on North Landing I could instantly hear the kittiwakes, kittiwaking and soon managed to pick them out with my binoculars. I then decided to walk along the cliffs. It was hard going in some parts due to the rain making the mud path very slippery.

North Landing

Walking along the cliffs I soon managed to see the usual suspects of the seabird world. Kittiwakes, Razorbills (year tick) and Guillemots (including a ‘bridal’) all over the chalk walls. With a couple of Puffins and a shag thrown in too. There were also a few seals in the water, getting mobbed by gulls every time they tried to eat their catch.

Seabird City!

Whilst walking I kept on seeing groups of Gannets (usually 5 or 6) flying in formation towards Bempton Cliffs, like a squadron flying home after a successful mission. Gannets are one of my favourite birds so it was a great sight to see. A Kestrel flew above the cliffs and I also saw this little toad.

Toad

Approaching the Lighthouse I managed to see a Lesser Whitethroat on a bush. Which was a lifer for me, although possibly because I’ve shamefully never bothered to tell the difference between a lesser and common before. I also saw this birds egg on the ground. Guillemot? Any suggestions?

Any ideas on the egg?

Approaching Flamborough lighthouse

Once at Flamborough lighthouse I clocked a common whitethroat and a Short Eared Owl hunting over the rough grass.  I then decided to walk to South Landing, however birding sightings eased off at this point due to the rain becoming more consistent so I but my binoculars away. However I did get a great view of a Sparrowhawk flying out of some trees and across a field of Oil Seed Rape and a fair few linnets about.

Close up of light house. I’m a bit annoyed that those bits of blue sky ruin the moody atmosphere

View of lighthouse across OSR on way to South Landing

Rainbow going into sea, no pot of gold I checked.

When I got to South Landing I started walking around and could hear some Chiffchaffs. I had forgotten that a rare bird was supposed to be here (Atlas Flycatcher, now I believe it’s been DNA identified as a Pied) so I was getting asked for a few birders if I knew anything about it (I didn’t). I didn’t see it, however I did see my first ever Flycatcher in the form of a spotted. I didn’t see much else except a female Bullfinch, Goldfinch, Chiffchaff and a hare in some private land.

I then made it back to the main road and headed to Bridlington Train Station where I saw the last bird of the day as a Herring Gull flew around the inside of the station much to the annoyance of a station worker.

And there ended a rather long and tiring but excellent day.

Yorkshire Wildlife Trust’s Page on Flamborough
Marine Conservation Society

2 responses to “Beach Cleaning and Head Walking

  1. Excellent post. I think you’re right about the egg being Guillemot by the way but don’t take my word for it as I often get egg ID’s wrong.

Leave a Reply

