And so it starts for another year


After waking up slightly later than I intended to, then checking twitter and text messages to see how much of an idiot I had been last night it was time to dig out my binoculars and head off to kick start the 2013 birding year.

The first birds seen were a Mallard and then a Moorhen on the Beck. Followed by woodpigeon, blackbird, robin and great tit on the walk to Swinemoor. When I arrived at Swinemoor I was taken back by how water logged it was. Lots more pools than usual and hard going in places. Really need to get some wellies! I managed to pick up a flock of long-tailed tits in the trees along the Beverley-Barmston drain. Scanning the common I picked up an interesting white shape, a better inspection with the scope revealed a little egret which quickly flew further down the common. I also got the three common gulls for this site – Common, Black-headed and Herring gull. I didn’t see any black-backs.  Three redwings flew between the trees.

Shadow Birding

Shadow Birding

Also managed fieldfare, cormorant, magpie and starling. Relocated the little egret which had now joined two others.  I then headed for the bridge over the river and was taken back by how high the water level of the river was at this point.

My normal route onto the river bank was blocked.

My normal route onto the river bank was blocked.

A mute swan flew over head as I made my way down the river to high eske. The walk from Crown and Anchor to high eske is never normally one full of birds, the odd corvid, an overhead cormorant or if you’re lucky a kestrel or barn owl is the most I normally can get. Today it was just some distant mute swans and gulls.

River Hull reaching embankment.

River Hull reaching embankment.

Once at the lake I decided to go straight after Erich saying that the circuit was out of bounds due to water levels. On the lake were a lot of greylags, couldn’t pick out anything of interest. Also on the lake were Great Crested Grebe, Tufted Duck, Gadwall and Goldeneye.

I decided to keep going to Leven Carrs to try see the Whooper Swans that had been reported earlier  on the opposite side of the river at Arram. Whilst walking along the river bank a Sparrowhawk flew across my path and across the bulging river. I have a hard time connecting with sparrowhawks, which makes every time I see one all that better. Managed to see the whoopers on Arram carrs but couldn’t make out any other wildfowl so started heading back. Back at the lake a large flock of teal came down to land as I had another look for the pintail reported by Erich last week but no luck.

River meets lake and the path to Pulfin is flooded.

River meets lake and the path to Pulfin is flooded.

With the state of Swinemoor I decided to say myself the effort and walk the Tickton to Wheel road home, was rewarded with a kestrel hovering near the swing bridge. Not too bad of a start to the year.

2 responses to “And so it starts for another year

  1. Good account and great to get news from Swinemoor/High Eske.

  2. Pingback: Hornsea Mere and Atwick | hullvalley

Leave a Reply

