Desert Island Discs


This post has nothing at all to do with nature or wildlife but is something I’ve wanted to do for a while but as this is the only blog I have will have to go in here. I apologise for digression and normal posting will resume in due time.

I’m quite a fan of Radio 4’s Desert Island Discs so have compiled my own list. For those of you not aware of the rules you have to pick 8 tracks that you would take with you if you were going to be stranded on a desert island. Then you have to choose an ultimate disc that you would save over all the others. You are also asked which book you’d take as well as been given the complete works of Shakespeare and the Bible (or another appropriate religious or philosophical work) and the choice of a luxury item.

I’m a huge Morrissey and The Smiths fan as most of you will know. Not sure if this is my favourite but it’s just too good not to take. It was either this or Morrissey’s Speedway.

“I’ve seen a lot of what the world can do and it’s breaking my heart in two”

The best cover song ever.

Been stranded on a desert island might just be the only chance to try and master singing along to this.

Probably my favourite band.

Wise words of advice.

I couldn’t decide between the original and Kirsty MacColl version. So would have to get this version put onto disc to take with me.

I absolutely love Dusty. Arguably one of the best female singers to have ever lived.

I think my ultimate disc would have to be “They Might Be Giants – Birdhouse in Your Soul”, the book I would take is “The Complete Works of George Orwell” as for the luxury item, well what else but a pair of top of the range binoculars.

Thanks for reading my self-indulgence, now tell me yours!

Leave a Reply

